How I started out into tech

How I started out into tech

How My Career in Tech Started and how the Journey has been for the past 10months.

Table of contents

I convinced myself a few months ago, that I had potential in building stuff with computer after having a discussion with a friend. Few days after I finished my HND program ( Nov 2019 to be precise), a friend of mine asked me a question that got me thinking. He was like, Maggy, asides reading book or passing exams πŸ˜‚ what other skill do you have???? I didn't really have a response to give because I've tried to learn some stuffs like catering, etc but I soon realized that it wasn't for meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜«πŸ˜«πŸ˜«. He then advised me to try tech, gave me some videos related to web development and that's how I fell in love with programming.πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

I started making enquiries, asking people on how to go about it. Soon, I had access to resources but there was a serious challenge; I didn't have a laptop!

This however, didn't kill motivation or ginger😌😎 because I was willing to make things work out. I kept watch videos and trying out some stuffs with my phone until after lockdown. I got a system early this year and my journey into front end web development began. I registered with femcode Africa during one of their cohorts. It lasted for three months and we were taught html,css, JavaScript and a foundational knowledge of react. I'm currently in another cohort and I do hope to brush up my javascript,dive fully into react and more...

This journey has been intriguing and I must say that I've learnt a lot.

My Learning Road Map:

  • HTML
  • CSS
  • JavaScript
  • React.

Some resources or websites that have been helpful are Stack overflow, GitHub issues, medium, some YouTube channels, free code camp and code academy. I'm also taking some paid courses on JavaScript and react.

Projects: One thing that has helped me so far is building stuff, Not just coding along tutorial but trying to build something with code. I built some projects and learnt how to solve problems. OMO! I also learnt patience πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Times when my code would refuse to work as expected, even when I felt I had done all that could be done.

Frontend mentors is a website that has lot of such projects... Some require that you pay but you are also given access to some free projects. You also get to see other solutions of people as there are a many methods to solving problems in programming.

I'm really positive about how far I'm going and the fact that I'm really going to be a professional full stack web developer. The journey is still far but I'll definitely reach my destination.

I hope you were able to get one or two things from this story of mine, I hope it helps someone out there. Thanks for reading through, you can reach me via Twitter @princessmaggy7

Β